Welcome to the ''APEC 2007 Annual Conference of APEC Centres'' website. The conference, an official APEC Australia 2007 event, analysed risks facing APEC and identified drivers critical to maintaining growth and development for Asia-Pacific economies.

APEC 2007 Annual Conference

Sympoisum and Business program papers and presentations

Conference images


Preliminary Conference Presentations

In December 2006 policy analysts, academics and private consultants from across the region gathered in Melbourne for a preliminary conference to deliver presentations on the issues facing the APEC institution, trade development and human security. more…

APEC Study Centres (ASC) Consortium

At the first APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting in 1993, the Leaders' Education Initiative was adopted at the initiative of the United States . The aim of this initiative was to create links between government, academia and the private sector in order to promote awareness of the importance of APEC. The first of three principal components of this was the establishment of an APEC Study Centre in each of the member economies.

There are now ASCs in 19 Member Economies, comprising some 100 universities, research centers and centers of academic excellence across the APEC region. APEC member economies participate in the Annual ASC Consortium meetings and other research activities presenting analysis and policy advice in areas of importance to APEC.


Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region.

Since APEC ' s inception in 1989 it has grown to encompass 21 members spanning four continents, and represents the most economically dynamic region in the world, accounting for approximately 40 per cent of the world ' s population, 56 per cent of world GDP and 48 per cent of world trade.

The 21 APEC Member Economies are Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; People ' s Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; The Republic of the Philippines; The Russian Federation; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; United States and Viet Nam.