ASEAN overview

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional grouping of 10 member states:

  • Brunei Darussalam

  • Cambodia

  • Indonesia

  • Lao PDR

  • Malaysia

  • Myanmar

  • Philippines

  • Singapore

  • Thailand

  • Viet Nam



ASEAN aims to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to promote regional peace and stability. It was established in 1967 with the founding member states of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.


ASEAN’s fundamental principles are:

  • mutual respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity, and national identity of all nations

  • the right of every state to lead its national existence free from external interference, subversion or coercion

  • non interference in the internal affairs of one another

  • settlement of differences or disputes by peaceful manner

  • renunciation of the threat or use of force

  • effective cooperation among themselves



The ASEAN Secretariat is based in Jakarta, Indonesia.


Visit for more information.

The Australian APEC Study Centre
RMIT University
Building 69
50 Cardigan Street
Carlton VIC 3053
Acknowledgement of country  
The AASC at RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nations on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. We respectfully acknowledge their Ancestors and Elders, past and present.  
The AASC would also like to acknowledge and extend our respects to the Indigenous people from across the lands we work, particularly the 21 economies of the Asia Pacific.  
  • White Twitter Icon

      Copyright © 2020 The Australian APEC Study Centre | Terms | Privacy | Contact Us | RMIT University