AusPECC 2019-20 Committee

Dr Gordon de Brouwer 


  • Honorary Professor and Distinguished Policy Fellow at the Australian National University

  • Former Secretary of the Department of the Environment and Energy (2013 - 2017)

  • Former Associate Secretary in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and Australia’s G20 Sherpa during the Global Financial Crisis.

  • Awarded a Public Service Medal in 2011 for outstanding public service in the development of international economic policy and made a Knight in France’s Legion of Honour for his work in G20.

  • Distinguished public service career with over 30 years’ experience in public policy, in the fields of economics, environment, energy and international institution building.

  • Held other senior leadership roles in the Department of Treasury, Australian National University, and the Reserve Bank of Australia.

Christopher Findlay AM

Vice Chair 


  • Former Executive Dean, Faculty of Professions, The University of Adelaide

  • Previously Head of the School of Economics at the University of Adelaide  and Professor of Economics in the Asia Pacific (now Crawford School) School of Public Policy at ANU.

  • PhD and MEc from ANU and an Honours degree in economics from the University of Adelaide

Ian Buchanan

  • Adviser PwC Strategy& Indonesia 

  • 45+ yrs APAC experience including Regional Chair Booz Allen Hamilton, Booz & Co. & SRI International

  • Asian Advisor to leading blue-chip firms & Director of multiple University & Government-linked NGO’s’ including World Chinese Economic Forum; UQ Global Change Institute; MBS Centre for Ethical Leadership

Andrew MacIntyre

Vice Chair


  • Former Deputy Vice-Chancellor International and Vice President, RMIT University

  • Formerly Professor of Political Science, Dean of the ANU College of Asia & the Pacific and Director of the Crawford School of Public Policy  at the Australian National University

Craig Emerson

  • Director of the Australian APEC Study Centre

  • Managing Director of Craig Emerson Economics

  • Chair of the Mckell Institute

  • Adjunct Professor at Victoria University’s College of Business

  • Member of CEDA’s Council on Economic Policy.

  • Holds a PhD in economics from the Australian National University, with 35 years of experience in public policy, politics and public service.

  • Senior Adviser to Prime Minister Bob Hawke from 1986 to 1990 and, after entering parliament in 1998, went on to serve as Minister for Trade and Competitiveness, Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research, and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Asian Century Policy between 2010 and 2013.

Miles Kupa

Allan Gyngell AO FAIIA

  • National President of the Australian Institute of International Affairs

  • Former Director-General of the Office of National Assessments (ONA)

  • Former Founding Executive Director of the Lowy Institute for International Policy 

  • Foreign policy adviser in the office of then-Australian prime minister Paul Keating

  • Former Australian High Commissioner to Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and The Philippines

  • Fluent in Thai, Indonesian and French

  • Extensive experience of Southeast Asia and the Middle East.

Andrew Parker

  • Partner & Asia Practice Leader, PwC Australia; Executive General Manager, International Services, Australia Post (on secondment)

  • Director, China Matters; Board member - Asia Society Australia & Australia Indonesia Institute; EXCO, Australia Japan Business Council

  • 20 Years Developing Market Advisory experience (15 in Asia)

Sung Lee

  • Director, Asia Practice, PwC

  • Special Advisor, ANU Crawford Leadership Forum; Formerly LKY School of Public Policy

  • President, ACBC ACT Chapter 

  • Co-founder, The Diplomat magazine

John West

  • Founder and Executive Director, Asian Century Institute; Adjunct Professor, Sophia University, Tokyo; Journalist, FDI-Intelligence, a Financial Times magazine

  • Ex Director - Balance of Payments, Australian Treasury (1980-86); former Head of Public Affairs, OECD (1986-2008); and former Senior Consultant for Capacity Building and Training, ADB Institute (2009-2011)

Copyright © 2020 The Australian APEC Study Centre | Terms | Privacy | Contact Us | RMIT University